The History of Ribble Valley Riding Club

Ribble Valley Riding Club has been established since 1947, making it one of the oldest Riding Clubs in the Country.

Initially mainly a Club for local farmers families, there was no fixed Showground and members used to meet four or five times during the summer in whichever field a farmer had just collected the hay off in an area which covered Preston and the Ribble Valley. Indeed some old silver trophies still bear the legend “Preston & Ribble Valley”.

Being a club steeped in history we have a wealth of perpetual trophies running through the years recording the names or winners past and present. The special M&M trophy was presented by Marguerite Booth to commemorate her daughter Caroline who died tragically at 19.

Amongst our famous names we have Geoff Billington for Open Jumping, Stuart & Nigel Hollings for showing and Jeannett Brakewell.

We would love to enhance the content of the history and would love to hear from anyone who has stories to tell and facts to add, please email

There are also a lot of Victor Ludorum winner missing off the list, if you can help fill in the gaps please get in touch, we’d love to hear from you.

Victor Ludorum Winners over the years

1982Carmen SmithWingrove Spick & Span
1983Diane CharlesworthNorthford Bantam
1984Jenny CrookGreenmount Pink Champange
1985Emma ScottStirking Hills Emrons Cariad
1986Jenny CrookEarnsdale Storm
1987Helen DunningHurtstead Finch
1988Jenny CrookEarnsdale Storm
1989Rachel ConnorMeadhead Foxtrot
1990Heather RostronPolo Minty Dream
1991Abigail GrestyHomeshill Mallard
1992Jenny CrookTyn-y-Cae Gold Kite
1993Briony FordDayhi Delilah
1994Joanne BurySalazeer
1995Clare EdwardsRoyal Jester
1996Stephanie ShoreNellern Megan
1997Stephanie ShoreNellern Megan
1998Emily HodgsonCroniarth Colour Girl
1999Eva BrennandSandboro Love Child
2000Ellie ToddClaughan Katie
2013Clare EdwardsRoyal Jester III
2014Clare EdwardsRoyal Jester III
2015Alison BaxterNewlands Cashel
2016Brooke DouglasMoortown Pedlar
2017Alison BaxterNewlands Cashel